Swanlinbar GFC

Promoting Gaelic Games

Swanlinbar Football Club formed in 1904. Over the years it has experience many highs and lows. In 1946 they got to the Minor Final only to be beaten by Belburbet by a point. In the late 1960's because of small numbers they had to amalgamate with Corlough. In 1972 they reorganised as Swanlinbar GFC

Over the following years have been successful 1981. 1984 Won The Junior League. 1985 Won The Junior Championship. 1998 Won The Junior Championship. 1999 Won Promotion to Division 1. 2006 Won The Junior Championship. 2010 Won The Junior Championship and Division 3. 2010 Ulster Junior Champions. 2011 All Ireland Junior Finalists Croke Park. Officers of the Club 2014. Chairman: Vincent O'Reilly. Vice Chairman: Sean Murray. Secretary: Michael Leydon. Assistant Secretary:   Sean Prior. Treasurer: Gabriel Mc Kiernan. Assistant Treasurer: Ciaran Mc Govern. PRO: Padraig Gilheany. Committee:  Liam Prior, Felix Mc Govern, Michael Reilly, Michael Cunningham (Jr) Paddy Reilly, Gerry Mc Kiernan, Kevin Keenan, Sean Mc Govern, Gregory Mc Govern, Paul Mc Govern, Kevin Prior, Mark Lyons. The club runs fundraising events throughout the year but the main events are the weekly Bingo in Saint Mary's Hall on Monday night's which has a prize fund of €3300 and the club Blotto where the numbers are drawn each Monday night at Bingo. We also run a festival over the May Bank Holiday Weekend when top bands play in the Marquee and other events take place over the weekend. We also run a Golf tournament in September each year.